The concepts of ITIL with respect to an IT project

In recent times, organizations, whether big or small have to keep their services constantly updated or modify their processes to higher levels in technology to safeguard their place in the market or garner high profits. We shall see in the following paragraphs as to how one of the most sought certifications, ITIL can help an IT project reach its goal:

ITIL Foundation consists of five phases of the Service Lifecycle:

a) Service Strategy

b) Service Design

c) Service Transition

d) Service Operation

e) Continual Service Improvement

ITIL Foundation - Service Strategy:

Preparing a strategy by which services in an organization can be improved or preparation of a new service in order to serve customers better is the main objective of Service Strategy. The other objectives will be to determine the services that the organization can offer and the resources and capabilities that will be required for this project.

ITIL Foundation - Service Design:

Any service, whether new or to be modified must always be designed by keeping in mind, the preferences of the customers and which can provide true value to the business. The service should be designed so that its features can be in a user-friendly way. Service Strategy and Service Design can be combined to study the behaviour and motivation of customers with relation to a particular product.

ITIL Foundation Service Transition:

Service Transition provides ample phases for testing of the new or modified service before releasing into the live environment. The transformation of a service from Service Design to Service Operation is facilitated by Service Transition while at the same time, providing support and knowledge of controlling risk and prevention of unforeseen consequences.

The most important part in Service Transition is the “Service Knowledge Management System (SKMS).” In general words, it can be better summarized as a database in which the history of all departments are stored including effective solutions to problems that are handled in the past. Knowledge sharing is one of the most vital parts of SKMS.

ITIL Foundation Service Operation:

Service Operation can be termed as the phase “where the real value is”. In short, it can be termed as :here the real value can be visualized by the customer. Other than processes, Service Operation also has Functions: Service Desk, Technical Management, IT Operations Management and Application Management.

The other objectives that Service Operation lines up are: monitoring the performance of a service, carrying out an assessment of metrics and collection of data in order to provide valuable inputs to Continual Service Improvement phase.

ITIL Foundation Continual Service Improvement:

This phase can be better termed as usage of methods of quality for the sole purpose of learning from previous let-down in projects and success. Continual Service Improvement can be seen throughout the Service Lifecycle as it ensures in following guidelines and policies for better strategy, design, transition and operation of a new or modified service. Improvement opportunities can be identified in any stage of the Service through the Plan-Do-Check- Act cycle and subsequently implemented until the service meets the preferences of the customer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers